Sophie’s Universe

Hello Friends!

I have started a new project that I am head over heels in love with! I’ve been knitting so many socks for Christmas gifts lately and I must admit that I am getting a little socked out. I love knitting socks for myself, but I tend towards being selfish (despite my best efforts), so knitting them for others has gotten me a bit restless. However, I was on a little Internet browse the other day and I stumbled upon the most perfect and beautiful thing to work on in between.

Sophie’s Universe is a crocheted afghan that was the subject of a mystery crochet along earlier this year. For 20 weeks, a new clue was released for instructions on the next few rounds in the blanket. It has since all been released and it is a free pattern, which is just about the greatest thing. I’ve completed parts one through three and have started on four. Some progress shots for you:

Part 1:

100_4075

Part 2:
DSC_0007Part 3:

100_4085

I am using Red Heart Super Saver, which is just about the cheapest acrylic yarn on the market. I’m usually a bit of a yarn snob, so it’s not my usual choice, but I needed a lot of it and my paycheck never seems to stretch as far as I would like it to (being an adult is the pits). However, the colors are gorgeous and the pattern is so fun and interesting that I got over it pretty quickly.

Only about sixteen more parts to go!

Happy Knitting (and crocheting)!

Emily

2 thoughts on “Sophie’s Universe

  1. Yes I recently found Sophie’s Universe as well and got pretty excited about it….then I had a good look…then I reassessed my crochet skills…..and now it is on the back burner for when I feel confident of being able to actually do it. 🙂 Yours is coming along nicely, congratulations!

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for stopping by! Honestly, I wouldn’t assess my crochet skills as being super great, but the pattern is so clear and helpful. I’ve learned a lot! You should give it a go sometime 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment